A Good Kind of Solitude

cold

I’ve been away from home for three months already. You see, I planted myself in the humble residence of my ill grandmother, patiently taking care of her and waiting for her recovery. Although it’s not the lifestyle that I have envisioned myself to be living, I found this kind of situation to be life-changing in several aspects.

It has been such a challenge for me as a personal nurse to my mother’s mother and at the same time work tirelessly to earn money, pay the bills, and also take care of myself independently. I rarely go out of the house except for important meetings with my clients or maybe running some errands. But most definitely, I head straight back to check up on her.

Recently, I published an article in my travel site called “Lessons Learned from a Life on Pause” and I got a few personal messages from my readers telling me how they felt and what they thought they could have done to their own parents or grandparents that passed away. I was touched.

Being far from the busy lifestyle of the city enabled me to focus on rebuilding myself physically, emotionally, and spiritually. I was able to meditate and talk to the Lord in the earliest of mornings, await for the beautiful sunrise, and love life despite the “temporary isolation.” This also gave me the chance to get to know my grandma, her life before she was married, and her painful struggles in the past.

This experience feels like a 3-month long retreat that not only it strengthens your faith with the Lord, but it also gives you so many things to think about and to be thankful of. I gained a lot of insights, realizations, and several personal stories that will soon become inspirations to the younger generation. With that being said, I think my journey (although stationary), is a good kind of solitude.

SketchingSketching Session at 6:30 a.m.

Apart from all the drama, this experience rekindled me to the passion that I once buried when I was in College. My passion for art was ignited as I started to do daily sketches at the terrace every morning. It’s therapy for me and it’s a great way to express my deep inner feelings.

I placed traveling on hold and focused all of my time around one person. That person, although we’re not even close before, became not only a genuine friend but also a great adviser to the life that I will live after this hurdle. Indeed, words of wisdom.

If you think your life is not going the way you planned it to be, just relax. Look up and close your eyes. God is there to write it out for you. And for those who doesn’t have time to meditate, find it in yourself to make time and fill yourself with peace and serenity. Go out, spend a day in solitude. Live and be thankful. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “A Good Kind of Solitude

  1. Indeed, to pause for awhile gives us the opportunity to know our self more. And in your case, to commune with God in your quiet times. Not everybody has that opportunity and faith to do so…

    I feel that I have to thank you for pening this life experience…

    You know what I am sure that blessings in all forms will surely follow you.

    God Bless to you and your grandmother… πŸ˜‰

    1. Hi Jherson! πŸ™‚ Ikaw pala yung person behind Lonely Travelogue. I’ve been reading a few posts I think a few months ago.

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I hope we could travel together soon. I wish you more happy travels and may God bless you always. πŸ™‚

      See you on the road!

Leave a Reply

