Stepping Out of that Comfort Zone

laid back

I admit I took very simple things for granted. I grew up with almost everything provided for me – I consider myself as one of those “lucky” people probably born with a silver spoon in my mouth. I depended too much on household helps that it took me 21 years to realize that I don’t know how to survive without someone to rely on. This is what I have learned in Cebu for my week long exposure as a work crew in Young Life Summer Camp for High School students. Seriously? Yes.

Here are my revelations (and I am sure you’ll say “What a brat!” – Ok, I deserve that.):

I NEVER WASH THE DISHES AT HOME.

plates

“I don’t like the smell of leftover food nor the feel of the greasy oil sliding down the plate. I don’t like rubbing my hands on yucky textures especially wet rice grains falling off the utensils. Most of all, I don’t like to tire myself from doing such a chore.”

I NEVER COOK FOOD NOR PREPARE RICE FOR EVERYBODY. 

food preparation

I always had that thought that somebody will always prepare it for me. I don’t know who – but there’s always someone. In times that there’s none, I have that thought that “Yeah, I might as well eat out.”

I NEVER SET THE TABLE OR ARRANGE THE CHAIRS.

setup

“Why should I tire myself from setting the table or arranging the chairs, if there’s someone to do that for me? ”

I NEVER SERVE BREAKFAST, LUNCH, OR DINNER.

serve

“Whenever I had the chance to eat, everything is already in place. All I needed to do was to dig in and burp. That’s all.”

I NEVER SWEEP OR MOP THE FLOOR.

mop

“I have no idea why I don’t but I have this feeling that I always depend on the household help. That’s the sad reality.”

I NEVER EVER CLEAN OUR BATHROOM.

responsibilities

“Who wants to, anyway? Do you really want to get your hands dirty and wet?” 😦

I sounded like a typical spoiled kid. Maybe I am and I really don’t want to admit it. Booo! 😦 Well, guess what? This week, I washed hundreds and hundreds of plates, bowls, cups, utensils and everything else. I prepared rice good for around 200 people, endured the steam as it wipes my face with mist. I carried stacks of mono bloc chairs back and forth including large tables, and set up the area neatly. I served breakfast, lunch, and dinner with complimentary interaction with the campers and refilling their empty cups with water. I swept the floor as if I was Cinderella, mopped it several times a day. Of course, I cleaned the bathrooms, picked up pieces of undesirable trash, and made it squeaky clean. I never cared if my back hurts nor if my hands are inflamed, nor the awful smell of rotten fish insides thrown outside, nor the heat. I never cared as long as I am doing the job right. Thank God for His intervention! 😀

I say, it is not too late to correct yourself. I have learned my lesson BIGTIME! Ciao! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Stepping Out of that Comfort Zone

  1. Oh you are absolutely like me. But then, you’ve corrected yourself and em still the spoiled one :(.

    Btw MY GOD, how did you cook rice for 200. Em sure I wud have ended up with mashed rice. lol

Leave a Reply

