In a Relationship with Facebook

negros

It’s too depressing to innately know that most of us are living a life of comfort and blindly, we don’t really see what’s going on with the world unless we’ll take that little chunk of time to just, for a moment, think of the past, present, and the future. It’s as if we all live in this sphere revolving around the internetnot that it’s a bad thing (it’s actually a great invention, no doubt!). But my point is… have you ever told your Social Networking “virtual partner” to maybe cool things off for a moment? So that you could get out and experience real things rather than sit in front of the computer all day, complain, and say “I wish I was that girl on the photo tagged by (insert name of your mutual friend).”

I’m NOT saying this because I want you all to know that I’m actually a psychiatric patient who fell completely in love with a Social Networking site – NO, that’s not it. Although it would have been an interesting topic to share to your friends – “Hey! I have like, this blogger friend, who, like, fell inlove with Facebook thinking that it was a man, and like, I’m so sorry for her.” Haha! πŸ˜€ That would be entertaining, though. But sorry, it’s not what you’ve hoped for.

boracay

Facebook gives me updates of the people I love, the people I know, the people I knew, and the people I don’t give a crap about but somehow I am surprised I approved him or her on my list of “friends.” There’s one dilemma that I don’t like about Facebook… This dilemma is what I call “sucking the life out of me.” Sure, updates are cool, notifications are fun, photos, videos, links, group chats, just about everything you could actually do in real life but with that ease of sitting, clicking, and laughing for minutes-turned-into-hours. That’s life now, I guess.

The thing is, this relationship with Facebook is not doing me any good. It only lead me to become curious of what other people are doing with their lives instead of focusing on mine. It’s as if the BIG NEWS is about the awful break up of (insert name of guy and girl here) because, oh, look, they updated their RELATIONSHIP STATUS. Is it Β BIGGER NEWS than the REAL WORLD PROBLEMS? Seriously? Doesn’t anyone care about the environment anymore? Or something?

This is on my end. I don’t know with you. Maybe yours is different from mine. I can’t deny the fact that yes I do love the services Facebook has to offer and all of the internet industry. Of course, I belong to the internet industry myself. But I don’t want to say something to the future kids that “Hey there, kid. When I was about your age, I was actually spending eight hours in the internet and I had so much fun clicking on different pictures that was tagged to me by a friend in highschool.” And then, probably the kid will say “Wow. What a ridiculous way to live your life!”

cebu

Yes. I just want to ride a boat and go elsewhere than sit and do things routinely.

Somehow, in every relationship, we’ll usually learn to gradually let go. This realization gave me that urge to get out and enjoy – not to routinely be boxed inside an internet mindset. With that, I’ll be living life differently now – less Facebook that is. Imagine what I can do for a few hours without thinking about it – I could possibly get lost in another city. That’s something worth sharing to those “hypothetical kids” I mentioned earlier, right? Haha! Ciao! πŸ™‚

19 thoughts on “In a Relationship with Facebook

  1. yup!!
    but… “people I don’t give a crap about ” is a bit harsh dontcha think? HAHAHAHAHAH!!

    Actually, its more like…
    “Facebook makes you hate people you know”
    LOL!!!

    lets go travel, dont like my relationship with facebook either…

    Twitter, a bit better, but sucks life out of you too! WHAHAHAHHAHA

  2. I guess that’s the reason I never dated Facebook or Twitter. Lol.

    Your points raised are so true. I have seen people who are so obsessed with FB that updating their status is like a matter of life and death.

    Like if you have an exam tomorrow, it has to be there on FB status. Soon as you come home after exam, well you have to write about how your exam was. Now imagine what would happen if they didn’t update their status.

    Yes…..The world would come to an end. πŸ™‚

    1. Oh so I guess WordPress won your heart, right? πŸ™‚ True. Sad to say I “was” one of those who well, updates the status from “lyrics of a good song” or something like “I’m tired.” – Really, that’s fine, I guess but somehow you just have to LIVE MORE and leave it at that. ahaha πŸ˜€

      The world will really and most definitely would come to an end. And soon, there will be computer viruses capable of eating our brains out. HAHAHA! πŸ™‚ Let’s live our lives, shall we? πŸ˜€

    1. Thank You! πŸ™‚ Funny you said “life life” because that’s something at the back of my mind. There’s internet life or virtual life, and then there’s life life – like the real thing where your hands could get wet from real rain! πŸ™‚

  3. hahaha…it’s good to rethink and use facebook to the more fruitful and productive ways…e.g. to reach out to a friend far away who needs encouragement…to organize a reunion amongst people who are far away from each other…hehehe…besides it keeps me updated about you and your writings…without it, life will be less fun…;-)

  4. haha yeah, there’s more to life than facebook. πŸ™‚ It’s nice to experience living life and going on in an adventure sometimes! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

