Midnight Bossa Nova with Sitti

It is not an ordinary day for me to wake up in the morning and receive a message from a friend (who will be performing in our city) telling you the details of their flight and itinerary of their stay. It is also not ordinary for me to jump on my bed and shout to the top of my lungs sounding like a little school girl squealing that “Sitti is coming!” – that’s just plain exaggeration! haha!Β The only thing that stayed ordinary was my feeling of happiness. πŸ™‚

Great to witness her again – doing what she does best. Bossa Nova filled the Iloilo atmosphere! Yey!

There I was, intoxicated with the caffeine of Starbuck’s Caramel Macchiato, resting at the side and waiting for her to sing, dance, and go la-la-lovely! Boom! A stunning performance grounded at the car park of SM City Iloilo with the crowd hoping for more soothing love songs and more dancing! I’m sure Sitti enjoyed the warmth of the Ilonggos. What pleased the audience was when she said “I love you” using our dialect (thumbs up!).

During the middle of the show, my eyes were drooping (probably the caffeine was out of my system) and while capturing a video she did this! Lookie Lookie! πŸ˜›

Sitti pointing and waving at me. “Heya Philippines’ Bossa Nova Queen!” I waved back.

Knowing Sitti and her stage performances with the band, you just can’t get enough entertainment. From the history tidbits of Sergio Mendes, to the meaning of the Portuguese songs (that I don’t even understand but love it anyway!), to the teasing and laughing and just pure joy when she’s up there – removing her blueΒ suede peep-toe high-heeled pumps and dancing like a princess! A Sitti Concert is not whole without the “Mas Que Nada” song accompanied by her wicked “fast-paced-tongue-twisting-ramble” of the lyrics. πŸ™‚ haha!

Walking on stage and sticking out her tongue to the audience clearly showed her playful persona. haha!

When the 45-minute performance had come to its end, it was now time to say “Hello!” to Sitti in person. I was with a friend who nevertheless wanted to say “Hi!” as well! We were there in her hotel room (of course with her explicit invitation – else it will sound deviously creepy to walk pass the hotel security undetected! haha). We entered slowly and she welcomed us to her room and I immediately (without any hesitation-whatsoever) sat beside her – all loopy. Eventually our expected “brief” greeting of Hi-Hellos turned out to be a meaningful conversation between the three of us. πŸ™‚

Happy that my cheek bones are starting to show! Sitti is still gorgeous. My pictures with her before – I looked like a baby elephant. hahaha!

Sitti asked me about my love life (I suddenly blushed and giggled) – what a way to start the “talk” lol! The three of us had a great time figuring each other out. More so, she threw me a lot of questions like my how my post-nursing career was going, my age, my … anything! And yes she saw me all grown up and perky (compared to my first meeting with her years ago I had a complete meltdown). We talked and talked until we knew that she was bound for Cebu in a few hours so we capped everything off! πŸ™‚ We bid our farewell – waving our hands at each other, a kiss on the cheeks, and of course a photo to document the moment. Bam! Everybody happy! πŸ˜€

Ending the adventure with a thoughtful message. That’s that! Thank You Ate! πŸ˜›

It was indeed a busy Thursday that greeted everyone in Iloilo City – streets being prepared, stalls being set-up, event organizers cramming, employees scheduling their day offs… You get the picture! haha. Everytime the Dinagyang Festival runs close to it’s day of heart-pounding drum beats and action-packed street-dancing, the mantra “Let’s Celebrate and Party!” is never a surprise. Hala Bira Iloilo! Ciao! πŸ˜€

10 thoughts on “Midnight Bossa Nova with Sitti

Leave a Reply

