6 Awesome Secrets About Korean Pop

It is quite unlikely (seriously!) for me to be seen in any Korean Pop Music Gathering because first and foremost, I am not well acquainted with the so-called emerging genre of today. And secondly, I’m certainly not a big fan (Jazz is more of my thing – no offense). Of all the odds of life, I was lucky enough to be dragged down by a friend to The Megatent in Pasig City to witness the 3rd Philippine KPOP Convention. I was surprisingly there! (Eyes wide open!) Bam!

Look at these Filipino supporters. When I say overwhelming, I mean overwhelming!

SECRET # 1 : K-POP (and I thought it was a microwavable popcorn brand – oops sorry!)

It’s Korean. Duh. K-pop was derived from the term “Korean Pop” or in another note, from “Korean Popular Music.” It originated from South Korea which includes pop, dance, electropop, hiphop, rock, and R&B. It’s very popular – might be viral now, I think.

SECRET # 2 : K-POP FASHION (on a brighter and positive side, I commend them for good taste)

All over the world, Korean Fashion was praised not only for the ladies fashion trend, but more with the gentlemen’s side. They have to thank the popularity of the bands because it is such a growing subculture to young teenagers and as well as adults that they somehow scream for that k-pop look! Darn! πŸ™‚

Filipino fans dressing up like their Korean Pop idols. Wow, right?

SECRET # 3 : THE K-POP CELEBRITIES

Ever heard of BoA, Superjunior, TVXQ, SS501, BIGBANG, KARA, Girls’ Generation, SHINee, 2PM, BEAST, 2NE1 and the list practically goes on. 2011 was the year Korean Pop Culture had it’s peak. Especially to the Philippines and the rest of Southeast Asia. Funny how music evolves.

Everybody was muttering “Jaejung” and I don’t know who on Earth he was. Lol! There you go!

SECRET # 4 : FANS GO CRAZY. I MEAN “MONEY-HAPPY” CRAZY WHEN IT COMES TO K-POP!

Don’t get me wrong because I was there! As part of the “selling crew” thanks to a dear friend, I had fun observing the wild interest of the young and the adults as well! Spending more than a few thousands they don’t really mind as long as they have their hands on the latest K-pop merchandise. Amazing!

SECRET # 5 : DRESSING UP LIKE A KOREAN POP STAR IS COOL (?)

I spotted a lot of kick-ass outfits! From the hair dye to the make up, to the clothing, to the nail polish, to the accessories, to the shoes, and to everything! I was in awe. I never knew that these people are so into this K-pop thing. They don’t even care if it’s hot as long as they are wearing it proud. Hats off, guys!

Did I mention there were contests held in that jam-packed venue? Thumbs up to the participants!

SECRET # 6 : PLAYING A POPULAR K-POP SONG WILL MAKE YOU SAY “OMG, I’M SINGING IT!”

I was there for more than 7 hours and shockingly I memorized a song that I could not even understand. lol! I had fun, though. People were like immersed with this K-pop fever and it made me think twice about not being able to fully appreciate their talents. They’re actually good.

Overall, I believe this experience taught me a great lesson – learn not to underestimate the likes of others. When it comes to music taste, everyone is unique. It’s up to us to decide if we like it or not. That event went absolutely well! The question now is… are you a fan? Ciao! πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “6 Awesome Secrets About Korean Pop

Leave a Reply

