The “OMG Don’t Panic” Spirit

My annual position as the “kid-who-gets-everything-she-wants-during-Christmas” slowly and uneasily started kicking me out. We sure had that glorifying place when we we’re young, right? Say around our pre-teens, perhaps? You say “Papa, I want this and that and ooh, those” and then when it’s that precious time to open the gifts, you get what you really wanted? Sheesh. 😦 And your eyes water because of sheer astonishment? Blaaah! I’m not that kid anymore! Now, I assume the role of the “present-giver” because I got my degree and all. Haha! Sour-graping much?

I used to look like this when I was a spoiled child. Just kidding. Hahaha!

It took me some well-deserved time to realize that I am in no way of getting what I want because, you see, I’m all grown up. Duh? Obviously. No time for pink, blonde Barbie dolls, or even those plastic kitchen set with plastic utensils and pretend-food. Reality is sometimes spooky and somehow, heart-aching – lol!

But the good thing is, I was able to experience that good old feeling of celebrating Christmas because there were tons of gifts under the tree (and even beside the tree). Now, as a young-adult (sounding so old and mature-ish), I know now that this is the time to celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ who was so awesome to sacrifice Himself to save us from our sins. And this time, Santa Claus is not coming to town. 🙂

Three days left before that “time of year” celebration and I don’t have gifts for my family and friends. So, no, I’m not in panic. Nope. Not yet! But I really felt the pressure. Think about that long line of busy shoppers, the swiping of credit cards, and worse? THE CREDITS! Haha! Earning your way in order to purchase the goods for your loved ones is quite the charm. It made me want to go back to the day that I just waited for my presents wrapped in glittery paper. Lol!

Anyway, it’s the spirit of giving. I’m just reminiscing my past. Lol! Happy Holidays everyone! Oh, and don’t panic. You’re not alone with the Christmas shopping and all. 😛 hahaha! Ciao!

4 thoughts on “The “OMG Don’t Panic” Spirit

Leave a Reply

