The Importance of Sleep

Have you ever thought about the words “sleep” and “less” when put together or interchanged would give you still a similar meaning? Nah, It just crossed my mind a minute ago. Like sleepless, less sleep, and sleep less. Having that in mind, I would like to share to you my encounters with sleep – well, because I tend to make my own sleep schedule (where day is night and night is day for me).

Welcoming you to my “home office / workstation” located just perpendicular to where my bed is at. This is me working at 4 o’clock in the morning with no signs of sleepiness.

Ever since I entered the nursing profession (when I was studying to become one, of course) the lack of sleep is nothing new to me anymore. I adjusted in that turmoil of endless Nursing Care Plan writing and Night Shifts. Somehow, I have taken that ‘nursing way of life’ with me and integrated it with my work. You may already know my work schedule.

Out of my curiosity, I took a sleep test just to check if I have any sleep disorders and such. Thank God I went to nursing school and learned to apply what I have learned in my everyday endeavors – especially to this ‘crazy’ lifestyle. Good thing that despite my topsy-turvy schedule I could still have that eight hours of sleep. This gives me an entire 18 hours to spend in a given day. That’s how I look at it.

Of course, caffeine in coffee plays a significant role in keeping me up. Now, I could do anything even without it. Hey, I may have a different sleeping time than you but it does not mean I lack sleep or I have insomnia. Just to clear things.

WHY IS IT IMPORTANT TO GET SOME SLEEP?

  • Sleep helps the brain commit new information to memory.
  • Chronic sleep deprivation may cause weight gain by affecting the way our bodies process and store carbohydrates, and by altering levels of hormones that affect our appetite.
  • Serious sleep disorders have been linked to hypertension, increased stress hormone levels, and irregular heartbeat.
  • Sleep deprivation alters immune function, including the activity of the body’s killer cells. Keeping up with sleep may also help fight cancer.
These are the important tidbits that I would like to share to all of you. Keep in mind that sleep is vital to us – it is like air and water! Let’s condition ourselves to a healthier lifestyle. Let’s get some sleep! Ciao! 🙂
Leave a Reply

