Sports plus Summer!

May 20th of this year, for the boring stuff – I had my final examinations. On that same day, I had my second dose of Hepatitis B Vaccine (That’s really and “ouch” on my left arm!). Still on the 20th, I had a scheduled flight to Manila at 6:55pm. Prior to that “day of excitement,” I already packed my things. Uhh, the usual – pants, blouses, dress, heels, shoes, slippers, shorts, toiletries, same same. Some of my friends knew the reason why I was so hyped about the Manila trip, and others would just say “ahh. It might be again another business trip.” I guess many would have perceived me to be the BUSY type.

My friends were pretty much excited for me as I was for myself. You see, it is not just a regular trip. I was invited to join the first ever Sittilympics 2010 (I made the shirt design! – go figure!). Sitti, as most of you know, is a Bossa Nova singer here in the Philippines. We named the event after her because she is the center of the so-called gathering. πŸ™‚ I have known and personally met Sitti when I was a freshman in my college. Yes, I was too shy to even talk to her and maybe I was just in awe meeting up with a big celebrity. *giggles*

So, OK. Maybe I was that ecstatic. πŸ™‚ During the flight, I was with my good friend, Jenna and her down to earth mom. I got to know her well too. When we arrived at NAIA, we parted ways – their plan was to go directly to Bataan. As for me, I was headed down to Makati Avenue. Roxanne, an online chatmate, now, my friend, fetched me from the airport. We went straight to our hotel, Great Eastern Hotel. I thought I could have my rest, but she asked me to go with her to Quezon and meet up with MJ. I said to myself “What the heck? OK.”

That night I got the opportunity to meet with Aisaku and Yumi, both singers of Stonehouse and probably potential OPM hitmakers. I really had my night there. But what was more important to me was having my sleep. But that’s not all that happened. I’d rather not talk about it. πŸ™‚

Back to “meeting-up-with-Sitti” story. In the morning of May 21, all of us gathered in Prince Towers. We all waited for Sitti and we rode a bus going to Lucban, Quezon. Before that we had several stops. We had our tree planting, we had our FREE lunch at Palaisdaan, and we went straight to Batis Aramin. πŸ™‚ What is unique about this three-day-event is that you get to now a lot of people at at the same time bond with them. Those three days were memorable! Sitti was very fun to be with and in my point of view, she’s not “just” a singer, there’s more to that statement. She plays volleyball, she likes adventures, she is very enthusiastic! There were games like “The Amazing Race”, Basketball, Volleyball, Badminton, also included were “Diyosa ng Batis” and “Talentadong Sittizen.” My time there with all of them will always be treasured.

Perhaps this is not the last of it. There will be another activity with the Sittizens in 2011. I am hoping for the best. My thanks to Sitti and the organizers of the event. It was really a surprise! Ciao. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

